Skip to Content
TMRS Logo Official web

Next Benefit Payment Date May 31


Board Approves 2023 Actuarial Valuation Report and 2025 City Contribution Rates

At its May 23 meeting, the Board of Trustees approved TMRS’ 2023 Actuarial Valuation Report and the 2025 contribution rates for participating cities. Cities can view their 2025 contribution rate in the Valuation Report and detailed contribution rate letters for each participating city will be posted to in early June. 

Portfolio Director Ngoc Can Recognized as a Leader in Private Equity Investing

Portfolio Director Ngoc Can has been honored with two prestigious investment industry awards. Private Equity International named Ngoc one of the “40 under 40: Future Leaders of Private Equity” and Institutional Investor recognized her with their “2024 AlphaEdge: Alpha Generation - Private Equity Investing” award. 

PEI’s “40 under 40: Future Leaders of Private Equity” award highlights “the rising stars creating a name for themselves in private equity.” Institutional Investor’s “AlphaEdge” awards recognize “distinguished leaders within the allocator community … for their outstanding contributions to portfolio construction ... [and] visionary approaches and strategic acumen [that] have significantly influenced the landscape of portfolio construction, setting new standards of excellence.” 

Chief Investment Officer, Yup Kim, put it well when he said, “These two awards are extraordinary individual accomplishments for Ngoc and a testament to her talent, vision, and leadership. This recognition also reflects the collective effort of our entire investment team, who all have played critical roles in our success, and the collaborative environment at TMRS, where teamwork and shared vision are central to our investment strategy.”

TMRS Honored by Government Finance Officers Association

In April, for the 18th consecutive year, TMRS earned the Government Finance Officers Association’s distinguished Award for Outstanding Achievement in Popular Annual Financial Reporting, the highest form of recognition in governmental accounting and financial reporting.  

Congratulations to our outstanding accounting team on this accomplishment! 

Thank You Johnny and Jesús

With Governor Abbott’s appointments on April 24, Johnny Huizar and Jesús Garza’s terms on the TMRS Board of Trustees came to an end. Both served TMRS with distinction. 

Mr. Huizar, the City manager of Pleasanton, was appointed to the Board in February 2020 and served as Board Chair. He has served as Vice Chair of the Board, Chair and Vice Chair of the Budget and Compensation Committee, and Vice Chair of the Audit Committee.

Mr. Garza, the City manager of Victoria, was appointed to the Board in February 2018. He has served as Chair and Vice Chair of the Board, Vice Chair of the Audit Committee, Chair and Vice Chair of the Stakeholder Advisory Committee, Chair and Vice Chair of the former Advisory Committee on Benefit Design, Vice Chair of the former Legislative Committee, and Chair of the former Technology Committee.

On behalf of their Board colleagues, TMRS staff, and TMRS’ 220,000 Members, we say “Thank you for your service!”

Governor Abbott Appoints Three TMRS Trustees

On April 24, Governor Greg Abbott appointed three new Trustees to the TMRS Board. Click here to read more. 

The three fill a vacancy that was created when Trustee Anali Alanis joined the TMRS staff (she now serves as Chief Service Officer) and replace holdover Trustees Johnny Huizar and Jesús Garza whose terms expired in February 2023. 

The new Trustees are:

Tommy Gonzalez is the city manager of Midland. Gonzalez previously served as El Paso city manager from 2014 to 2023, where he earned the Baldrige Foundation E. David Spong Lifetime Leadership Award in 2022. He helped El Paso earn various awards including the All-America City Award and Texas Award for Performance Excellence. Additionally, as Irving's city manager from 2006 to 2013, he helped the city earn the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and Texas Award for Performance Excellence. Gonzalez holds leadership roles on several boards and has received recognition for economic and public sector excellence, is a black belt in Lean Six Sigma and served in the U.S. Army and retired as a Lieutenant Colonel. Gonzalez received a Bachelor of Science from Eastern New Mexico University and Master of Public Administration from Texas Tech University.

Tricia Mirabelle is a commander with the Pflugerville Police Department. She is president and board member of Blue Guardian of Pflugerville, a volunteer law enforcement liaison for ASIS International, and member of the International Association of Chiefs of Police. Additionally, she is a Women in Leadership subcommittee member for the Texas Police Chiefs Association. Mirabelle received a Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice and Sociology from Texas State University and Master of Science in Leadership and Management in Criminal Justice from Sam Houston State University. Additionally, she will receive her certified public manager designation through Texas State University this summer. 

Roy Rodriguez is the city manager of McAllen. He is a member of the Texas City Managers Association (TCMA) and Region 10 president. He is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, Rio Grande Drainage Committee, Rio Grande Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization, and South Texas College Public Administration Advisory Council. He is a former director of the Lower Rio Grande Water Committee and former gubernatorial appointee to the Texas Municipal Retirement System Board of Trustees, where he twice held the position of chairman between 2005 and 2018. Additionally, he serves in multiple roles for Our Lady of Perpetual Help Catholic Church. Rodriguez received a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from Texas A&M – Kingsville and Master of Public Administration from The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley.

The City of China Grove Joins TMRS 

On April 1, the City of China Grove joined TMRS, becoming the 936th participating city. 

China Grove is located in Bexar County, fourteen miles east of San Antonio. The town is named after the abundance of Chinaberry trees planted there in the mid-1800s but is most known for the 1973 hit single “China Grove” by the Doobie Brothers. China Grove is a vital part of the greater San Antonio community, and we are honored to have them join TMRS.